Review and Analyze “While My Guitar Gently Weeps” from my point-of-view

image

While My Guitar Gently Weeps written by George Harrison

I don’t really know the history behind this one of my favorite song. But if I were to guess, I think this song is about George getting overshadowed by John and Paul.

“I look at you all see the love there that’s sleeping, while my guitar gently weeps”.
I think that George is saying that there is no love for him from Beatles fans because he never really got a chance to get people to like and appreciate him as much as Beatles fans do John and Paul. Every time he says while my guitar gently weeps, he is describing himself. George was really just, “that Beatle that played guitar and didn’t write a lot of songs.” George is gently weeping because he is forced to help and support people that overshadow him.

“I look at the floor and I see it needs sweeping, still my guitar gently weeps,”
This means that George is describing himself almost like a servant for John and Paul because he is helping them make success even though there is none of his creative input, and still he feels sad for helping them.

“I don’t know why nobody told you, how to unfold your love, I don’t know how someone controlled you, they bought and sold you,”
I know this sounds a little weird, but again, this is what I got out of it. George is the guitar, so he and the guitar are like one person. He’s reassuring himself by talking to the guitar, he’s trying to keep it from weeping. It’s like he’s talking to himself in a mirror. George is sad and confused about how John and Paul didn’t let him have more creative input, but still controlled him into helping them. They also, “bought and sold him,” by letting him join the band, but basically selling him by excluding him from their songwriting.

“I look at the world and I notice it’s turning, while my guitar gently weeps,”
George sees that John and Paul making progress and being successful, but he is still sad because he is not in on their songwriting.

“With every mistake we must surely be learning, still my guitar gently weeps,”
I feel like here George is trying to be optimistic, but realizes quitting is his only option,and if he does, he will be:

  • Not be successful because of his original lack of popularity from the Beatles
  • Feeling bad because he feels like he’s betraying the people that got him where he is and then Beatles fans will hate him rather than paying no attention to him at all, which almost completely lowers the chances of him being successful as a solo artist.

“I don’t know how you were diverted, you were perverted too, I don’t know how you were inverted, no one alerted you,”
it’s pretty much the same as what he was talking about in the other part where he is sad and confused. Again, George is, “talking to the guitar,” by saying that he is sad and confused about how he had such high hopes about himself the Beatles, but he was just tricked into thinking he would be noticed, and instead he was, “abused,” by John and Paul. He also doesn’t know how he was, “put aside,” by John and Paul.

I hope you enjoyed my analysis and after reading it you can see it from my point of view, which I hope is somewhat accurate on what George truly meant by writing it. I am sorry if it is a bit unclear, English is not my first language. I understand what every word in the song means, but when I try to traduce what I think to English it kinda gets lost in translation. Please feel free share yours with me if you feel like I was way off 😉

#georgeharrison #thebeatles #whilemyguitargentlyweeps #sorryformybadwritinginenglish

2 thoughts on “Review and Analyze “While My Guitar Gently Weeps” from my point-of-view

Leave a Reply

